Wednesday, August 3, 2011

Summer projects and a live chat with Matthew...

If beach combing has been part of your summer mission and beach glass your bounty, then these summer craft projects will be right up your alley. From our summer bookazine, SUMMER with Matthew Mead, these sea glass projects are easy, fun and oh-so-doable.

Today, Matthew will be chatting with Pat Sloan via her FREE internet radio show, American Patchwork & Quilting with Pat Sloan. Tune in here to listen at 3pm Eastern Time (2 pm Central, 1 pm Mountain, 12 noon Pacific). After the live show, we will post a link to the interview in case you missed it! Matthew and Pat will be discussing, among other things, creative summer projects including the three beach glass projects below:


 Sea Glass Cake Stand:


Hot-glue sea shells to the edge of a glass cake stand bearing oh-so-fitting shell-shaped cookies. 
How to:  

 Use a hot glue gun to adhere thin ribbon around the cake stand's edge and use the hot glue gun to secure clean shells to the ribbon.

Sea Glass Wreath:


The watery blue, green, and clear shades of a collection of translucent sea glass bring coastal style to any project. Adhered to a wire wreath form using epoxy and hung from an organza ribbon, the glass adds an ethereal quality to a rustic backdrop of a simple wooden door. 

How to:  

What you'll need:

8" single-wire wreath base
thin ribbon 
Hot glue gun
Beach glass



*Wrap the frame with the ribbon and use the hot glue gun to secure the beach glass to it. Tie ribbon to the back of the wire form and hang.
  
Sea Glass Flower Frog:


Use beach glass sourced from a craft store to add color to a vase of fresh flowers. The shimmery glass hides the stems and adds color and light. Place in front of a window for added sparkle.

How-to:

Fill a glass vase with beach glass. Add water and flowers, using the beach glass to anchor the stems.

3 comments:

  1. Perfect projects to bring the coolness of the sea to this oppressively hot summer. I'd love to find sea glass one day.

    Jan

    ReplyDelete
  2. I love sea glass but I really love your words to live by at the bottom of the page!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love sea glass, too and would like to try gluing on the cake stand...then put seashells on top!

    ReplyDelete

We love to hear from our readers and friends! Thank you for taking the time to talk to us.